Spring cleaning: 13 things to replace right now

We’ve all reached that time of year when the weather is iffy and if you’re not in college, there’s nothing much to do.  So I think somebody down the line got just bored enough to clean out their house and called it – the dreaded – Spring Cleaning.  But at the same time when the snow is melting and you can finally see the grass desperately trying to come back to life, you can also see the muck and the grime and the dirt that the snow plow heaved into your yard and that the wind and rain are now spreading everywhere.  Yes…I want to go out and clean it all up too. Or at least pay the nice neighbor boy to do it.  But like any wife, the inside of the home comes first (because the weather’s iffy, remember?)

So here we have a list I found of what to replace:

Spring cleaning: 13 things to replace right now – MSN Living.

 Toothbrush – This one’s easy for me because I have a free stocked up supply of toothbrushes already.  If you visit your dentist twice a year (like you should) they give you that cute little goodie bag on your way out with a new toothbrush, floss, toothpaste, and maybe a sticker if you’re under age 12.  I have never bought a toothbrush simply because my dentist is neat that way.  Either way, if your bristles are frayed, toss it too.

Batteries in Smoke and Carbon Monoxide Detectors – This one I don’t care too much about either because the batteries last a whole lot longer than one year.  But it is quite annoying when they start to beep in the middle of the night and it takes you twenty minutes to figure out which one is beeping so you can angrily rip it off the ceiling and deal with it in the morning.

Eye Makeup – Ladies, I admit I hold onto makeup longer than I probably should; it’s expensive for cryin’ out loud!  But if you’re digging through your makeup bag and you find that cheap little set that Aunt Fannie gave you for Christmas eons ago, there’s probably a reason it’s lasted this long:  it’s cheap and isn’t good for your face.  If it’s cracked, dried out, or more than 6 months old, just toss it.

Foundation – Now this is more for liquid foundation.  If you wear powder (like I do) refer to the eye makeup just above.  But if you can see the layers of separation, don’t just shake it up and reuse it.

Sneakers – Now I quite disagree with replacing tennis shoes every year, especially if you have many pairs of shoes and they don’t get worn every single day in and day out.  I fully support the old adage:  use it up, wear it out, make do, do without…..especially for clothes, shoes too.  But obviously, if the sole has holes or the laces are so worn they can’t hold together, get a new pair.

Kitchen Sponge – When I hear these two words I immediately think, “Eww, gross!”  I don’t advocate sponges at all because they literally spread bacteria across every surface you’re cleaning.  Toss it now!  Use a fabric washcloth that you launder at the very least once a week.  And before you use it, soak it in water, lay it flat in the microwave, and nuke for a minute or so; that will ensure you’re not growing your own personalized culture in your sink.

Baking Soda in Fridge/Freezer – sure, easy.

Pillows – if your wallet can take it.

Water Filter – Now this one….if you haven’t already followed the filter replacement specs for your water purifier (it’s usually every 3 months like mine), please get a new one.  Think about the air filter in your home’s circulation system, or the oil filter in your car–if you don’t change those often enough what happens?  Now what happens to the water you drink if you don’t replace it’s filter?  Hmmm….

Sunscreen – I never thought about replacing my sunscreen, I usually just use it until it’s gone.  But like your makeup, it can separate and not work as effectively over than length of time.  Probably best to replace it.

Cedar in your Closets – What?!  I almost laughed out loud when I heard this one.  I’ve only been in one home, ever, that had cedar lined closets and it was built in the 60’s.  Now I agree, it’s nice to keep things fresh–I have a cedar hope chest.  But home reconstruction?  Not sure if I agree.

Toilet Brush – Makes sense; who wants that disgusting thing sitting there even though we have to have it?  But at the same time, who wants to invest in something that will always be mucky anyway?  You’re choice, I guess.

Canned Goods and Bottled Water in Your Emergency Kit – I completely support this notion.  In fact, if you have more food storage as well, you should be constantly revolving it’s inventory, using up the old and continually replacing it with the new.  You’ll get much more out of your money and effort if you gradually rotate through things.  If you prefer to just purchase things yearly in a lump sum, go ahead.  But if you’re going to have it sit there and not get used, you’ll have to eventually replace it and it will be money down the drain in the long run.

WHAT CAN YOU CLEAN OUT OR REPLACE RIGHT NOW?

Leave a Reply

